Weekly Tune-Up: Born Ruffians are back! Yey!

Born Ruffians are back on tour, and releasing the Plinky Plonk EP, 11/2010 online, or available now at their shows. I saw them open for…I think it’s Hot Chip. This was a few years ago, and after a while a lot of shows start to blend together in my mind. I felt a little bad because not a lot of people had arrived yet, and these thin kids were on stage just warming up to basically an empty room. I suppose that’s all part of being an opening act, however, once they launched into their performance, I was instantly a fan. Not only for their talent, but also the enthusiasm and fun they had that drew people from the bar in the back of the room up toward the stage. The members are Luke Lalonde (guitar/vocals), Mitch Derosier (bass) and Steven Hamelin (drums). Their songs are full of sweet, clean melodies complemented by the singers unique wail. They also did a cover of Grizzly Bear’s Knife, and anyone who knows me, knows how much I love hearing good covers of really good songs.

Below is a link to First Date Kid off of Plinky Plonk, posted by Warp records. I love it, and can’t wait to hear the entire EP. Hopefully I’ll get a chance to see them play when they come through our fair city again! Check out their website for all their dates. I’m adding in a few older tracks of theirs that I still keep in steady rotation on my ipod for your listening pleasure.

First Date Kid – Born Ruffians ft. Tokyo Police Club’s David Monks-[link]

Knife (Grizzly Bear cover) – Born Ruffians-[mp3]

Red Elephant – Born Ruffians-[mp3]

Comments
2 Responses to “Weekly Tune-Up: Born Ruffians are back! Yey!”
    • Yea, they’re really cute, and talented. I like em alot. They’re playing here again soon but not sure I will be able to make it to their show :/ bummer. But can’t wait to hear their new stuff next month!

Leave a comment